Types of ROM (Read-Only-Memory)

Types of ROM (Read-Only-Memory)

As you may already know ROM is read only memory. This means that the processor can only read the memory on the ROM but cannot write memory on it. This is done so that the memory on the ROM is not lost as it may contain vital system information.

Now as regards to your question, there are namely 4 types of ROM:-

* ROM (Read Only Memory)
This is your normal ROM that is found in most PC's. It is designed similar to a processor, and is made out of silicon. Data can be read from it but you cannot write data on it. This is the permanent memory of the system. It is used to perform a single function.

* PROM (Programmable ROM)
PROM is programmable ROM. Sometimes we may want to write some data on the ROM. In such cases we use PROM. Data can be written on it using special equipment. It is important to note that data can be written on PROM only once but it cannot be removed from the PROM.

* EPROM (programmable ROM from which data can be programmed and erased)
EPROM is programmable ROM from which data can be programmed and erased. Note that programming and erasing is not limited to just one time. It is done using ultra violet light. The downside to this that i requires additional hardware to program it. EPROM is now used in most bios systems. This provides flexibility for the programmer.

* EEPROM (Extension of EPROM)

EEPROM is the next generation of ROM. It takes EPROM to the next level. As compared to EPROM, EEPROM can be programmed using software technology. The user himself can program the ROM using system software. The main advantage of this is you don't need special hardware to program it. This saves the programmer a lot of money. This has become the dominating force in the BIOS ROM market. Majority of the motherboards these days come with EEPROM.
Please leave a comment and like us on Facebook! Thank You!


Feel free to comment, to inquire and to suggest. Pls leave a comment.